What is a Hand ?

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
IKerensky
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 10 months ago
Joined: Nov 02, 2012
What is a Hand ?

Hello,

 looked in the game book but it isn't defined. In GSF a card that you are playing is counted as being part of your hand or not ? Asking, because the definition isn't always the same depending on the game (in Pathfinder Card Game by example it would be). I am asking about the dwarf booster that count the number of boost in your hand.

Ike.

Reckless
Reckless's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 8 months ago
PlaytesterInspiring Presence
Joined: May 17, 2012

I don't have a solid rule citation, but I believe that once the card is played it is no longer considered to be a part of your hand.  I'm going off of my general experience with card games more than anything, but I'm pretty sure that's how it works.

Also, the title of this thread would make for a great thesis statement on the analysis of a "hand" in card games and how it has developed over the years.


Ra, God of the Fun
Draw, God of the Sun
The Matriarch's Psychic damage is her forcing a gratuitous amount of Snapple facts about birds into a hero's brain.

KainNived
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 8 months ago
Joined: Dec 31, 2013

Cards in a pile face down. Draw deck.
Cards face up in a pile. Trash.
Cards face up on table. In play.
Cards drawn but not in play, generally held in your hand. Your hand.

Cards in your hand can be played, or discarded.
Cards in your hand cannot be destroyed.
Cards in play may be active, activated, or destroyed.
Cards in play cannot be discarded.

Pydro
Pydro's picture
Offline
Last seen: 14 hours 5 min ago
ModeratorPlaytester
Joined: May 19, 2012

It is not considered in your hand.


Civilized men are more discourteous than savages because they know they can be impolite without having their skulls split, as a general thing.
-Robert E. Howard, "The Tower of the Elephant"

BlueHairedMeerkat
BlueHairedMeerkat's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 2 weeks ago
Playtester
Joined: Nov 25, 2012

KainNived wrote:

Cards in a pile face down. Draw deck.
Cards face up in a pile. Trash.
Cards face up on table. In play.
Cards drawn but not in play, generally held in your hand. Your hand.

Cards in your hand can be played, or discarded.
Cards in your hand cannot be destroyed.
Cards in play may be active, activated, or destroyed.
Cards in play cannot be discarded.

Discard? Destroy? Trash? What are these strange and mystic words? I only know of recycling and scrapping :P


“You gotta have blue hair."
-Reckless

IKerensky
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 10 months ago
Joined: Nov 02, 2012

KainNived

Nice definition, should have been in the rulebook.

Because in some other card games :

Cards in a pile face down. Draw deck. (actually in GSF it is face up).
Cards face up in a pile. Trash. (You mean scrap ? you sure they are face up ? In GSF it is the draw deck that is face up)
Cards face up on table. In play. (Depend on the game, in PAGC thoses cards are on display)
Cards drawn but not in play, generally held in your hand. Your hand. (This one clear)

 

You still didn't answer :

Card being currently played while I still reading its text while physically having it in my hand. It is not recycled nor trashed yet as I am currently applying its effect, is it hand, is it limbo ?

This is the sort of clarification that is required in a card game because for some it is part of the hand, for some it is not.

Ameena
Ameena's picture
Offline
Last seen: 2 hours 46 min ago
Playtester
Joined: Oct 15, 2012

I'd say that if you're in the process of applying a card's effect then it's in play - if it was in your hand, you wouldn't be applying its effect, and if it was in the trash/scrap, then you'd've already done that and finished with it.


I am the Wordweaver...

Basically, I like writing stuff ;)