Scrapped Station cards and replenishing Station decks

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
DrScott
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 2 months ago
Joined: Mar 29, 2013
Scrapped Station cards and replenishing Station decks

I've seen in two places that scrapped Station cards go into the Station Scrap with the Opposition side up.  (From official FAQ).  I can see how this would apply to Station cards that get flipped during Aftermath phase, but does this also apply to Station tech cards that are intially Installed on a Strike Force ship and later scrapped through battle damage?

So, eventually these Opposition side up Station cards are going to be dealt out to replenish empty Sector decks.  When one of these Opp face up cards is on the top of the Station deck, when does it go into play?  And if during the Aftermath phase an Opp side up Station card is flipped to the SF side because of the action of an unengaged Opp ship, how is that then put into play (per the rules to flip a station card and put it into play)?


"You've got to kick at the darkness until it bleeds daylight." B. Cockburn

Edited by: DrScott on Jun 8 2014 - 11:32am
Pydro
Pydro's picture
Offline
Last seen: 55 min 12 sec ago
ModeratorPlaytester
Joined: May 19, 2012

Whenever you deal cards to a Station deck from the Station Scrap, you put them SF side up.


Civilized men are more discourteous than savages because they know they can be impolite without having their skulls split, as a general thing.
-Robert E. Howard, "The Tower of the Elephant"

DrScott
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 2 months ago
Joined: Mar 29, 2013

Pydro wrote:

Whenever you deal cards to a Station deck from the Station Scrap, you put them SF side up.

 

So where the heck is that in the rules?  I've seen in the forums that you're to scrap them Opp side up (haven't yet found that in the rules), and the rule book states you put the undealt Station cards essentially in the scrap withthe Opp side up, but nowhere do I see anything about replenishing them SF side up.  Why even make a point to discard them Opp side up if you're just going to flip them SF side up when you replenish.  Why not just scrap them SF side up and be done with it?


"You've got to kick at the darkness until it bleeds daylight." B. Cockburn

Spiff
Spiff's picture
Offline
Last seen: 3 months 4 weeks ago
PlaytesterExceeded ExpectationsUnique Capabilities
Joined: Sep 09, 2011

I agree this whole part of the rules is pretty weak.


Spiff's SotM site: www.spiffworld.com/sotm
Spiff's Tactics site: www.spiffworld.com/tactics

MigrantP
MigrantP's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 day 12 hours ago
Joined: May 22, 2012

I don't think it matters what side is up in the scrap. Just make sure you shuffle every time you replenish.

I haven't seen any cards that care about the scrap, e.g. the top card or anything, but I could be wrong.


Lead Bit Flipper, Handelabra Games
Developer of digital tabletop games & apps like SotM: The Video Game and Bottom of the 9th

grim88
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 4 months ago
Joined: Aug 30, 2013

I discarded to the top of the deck, orange side up, and then drew from the bottom, flipping the card as i played it.

 

EDIT: Looking back at the rules, I see it DOES say to reshuffle each time.