Clarifications and Decisions from Handelabra & Christopher's Fireside Chats

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
MigrantP
MigrantP's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 hours 53 min ago
Joined: May 22, 2012
Clarifications and Decisions from Handelabra & Christopher's Fireside Chats

As we implement the rules of SotM in the video game we often have discussions with Christopher. This post will chronicle the clarifications and decisions made from those discussions, particularly those that are not necessarily well-known.
 
Keep in mind that because the video game is running on a computer, it has to do things in a consistent way with no ambiguity. On the tabletop, you are not restricted to that! So don’t feel like you need to do things exactly the same way on the tabletop. The most important thing is to have fun!
 
I’ll be updating this post periodically with new things. Feel free to add this information to other FAQs, etc, and consider it “official.” If you have any questions or concerns, please create a new thread in this forum specific to your question.
 
Video-game specific FAQs are now posted on our website.
 
Without further ado, here are the goods!
 
----------
 
Police Backup does not prevent the discard; i.e. there is no implied “instead.”
 
If all non-incapacitated heroes have a card in hand, they can activate Hostage Situation.
 
Bunker’s second incapacitated ability is changed in the video game to: “Select a hero. Reduce the next damage that would be dealt to that hero by 2.” It now works the same as The Wraith’s innate power.
 
Card effects that have an expiry date (e.g. “until the start of your next turn”) survive the destruction of the originating card. Effects that do not have an expiry date go away after the card is destroyed.
 
“Reveal” and “Look at” mean the same thing.
 
When Baron Blade flips, any MDPs in play are not destroyed, but simply leave play. So a card like Ammo Drop does not get to activate in response.
 
If something is looking for a target with the second highest HP, and there is only one candidate, the attack fizzles.
 
Highlander rule: there can be only one target with the highest HP. If two targets are tied, the players decide which is the highest and which is the second highest.
 
When a hero is incapacitated, cards which react to card destruction do not activate.
 
Cards under other cards (like Omni-Cannon) are considered in play (but have no text) unless the card on top says otherwise. For Omni-Cannon in particular, those cards are in play but they did not enter play (because of magic). When they get put under Omni-Cannon, “when a card enters play” triggers do not apply. Cards under other cards count for the hero they belong to when considering “the hero with the most cards in play” because they still belong to the deck they came from. For example, if a Raptor Bot is under Savage Mana, the Raptor Bot is included in Unity's count of cards in play.
 
Divine Sacrifice and Stun Bolt do not require the target to take damage in order to get the extra effect. If the damage is redirected, the ultimate target gets the extra effect.
 
Players can “mix and match” the damage orders from Technological Singularity. In the video game for simplicity, it happens per hero.
 
Technological Singularity damages each of The Sentinels hero character cards based on the number of The Sentinels equipment cards. Ouch!
 
A Limited card cannot be intentionally played when another copy of it is already in play.
 
In the video game, the “common” incapacitated abilities of all heroes have been made consistent with one another. Sometimes this is a small material difference from the printed card. They are as follows:
One Hero may use a Power now.
One Player may draw a card now.
One Player may play a card now.
One Hero target regains 1 HP.
 
When card text says “hero” (not “hero target”) it’s shorthand for “hero character card.”
 
For River of Lava, Hostage Situation, and similar cards: all of the players must take the action (e.g. discard the top 3 cards of your deck), or none of them.
 
You can choose to not do the 2nd damage on Grenade Launcher (2 projectile) and still do the 3rd damage (1 projectile).
 
The Visionary gets to make different Twist the Ether decisions for every instance of damage, even if it’s one source damaging multiple targets. She can also change her mind on Twist the Ether decisions after damage is redirected.
 
You are allowed to play cards that go next to another card when there are no applicable cards to do so (for example, Wrest the Mind with no non-character targets in play). The card goes to the trash but is not destroyed.
 
When playing Rampage, the players may not mix up the damage dealing to non-hero targets and hero targets. It’s first 5 to all non-hero targets, then 2 to all hero targets.
 
Cards in the Self-Destruct Sequence countdown pile work like other cards under cards. They are still considered environment cards and can be destroyed by Flash Flood, etc. The countdown is aborted if there are at least H + 2 cards in the pile.
 
When Forced Deployment triggers, the cards enter play from the trash in order from the top of the trash to the bottom.
 
Cards that restore HP are unaffected by effects that increase/decrease HP gain. For example, Aegis of Resurrection is unaffected by Phosphorescent Chamber.
 
If Fanatic has less than 3 cards left and plays Wrathful Retribution, she still has to discard the cards but does not get to deal damage.
 
If there are multiple cards interested in a card’s destruction, they all happen (in player decided order) even if the card gets put under another card. For example, if Haka destroys Pterodactyl Thief with Savage Mana in play, Pterodactyl Thief can go under Savage Mana and then the thief’s cards return to the owners’ hands.
 
If a card with a “you may use an additional power this turn” effect is played outside of your turn, or on your turn after the power phase, you immediately use a power (or skip). If it’s played on your turn before the power phase, you must wait until the power phase to use it.
 
Freedom Six Tempest may not destroy his own character card.
 
If Fanatic is incapacitated after playing Divine Sacrifice, its redirection effect goes away. Damage dealt by those targets is no longer affected.
 
If The Super Scientific Tachyon chooses a deck with one card in it, the card is discarded.
 
The Super Scientific Tachyon gets to decide the order in which the two cards she reveals are played or discarded.
 
If the Wraith has Combat Stance in play and is incapacitated by damage, Combat Stance is removed from play before its effect can occur. 
 
If two Meteor Storms are in play, skipping your turn only destroys one of them.
 
If The Wraith has Stealth active, and something does 0 damage to her, it does not use up the temporary damage reduction. If something does 1 damage, but there is another effect that reduces damage by 1, she can choose the order of operations such that it becomes 0 damage and does not use up the temporary damage reduction.
 
If a temporary damage reduction is used to pass a redirection test (e.g. Driving Mantis), then it gets used up even though no damage would have been dealt to that target.
 
Ambuscade’s trap cards can never enter play.
 
If a trap card is on top of the deck when a card is being played from the top of the deck, the trap’s effect happens first.
 
If Rook City Wraith uses Sleuth when environment cards cannot be played, the revealed card must be discarded.
 
---------- Rook City Updates ----------

If The Wraith cannot deal damage, she can still use Stun Bolt to apply the “reduce all damage dealt by” effect to a target.

Supercooled Trisolvent Vat does not trigger on hero cards being played by other means than “the player.” For example, an effect like “play the top card of a hero deck” will not trigger the Vat’s response.

If PL602 Compound Omicron is in play and Spite has other damage reduction as well, the players can decide whether PL602’s reduction gets used up by choosing the order of operations. Note: this choice is not available in the app yet.

When Spite flips, the players can decide the order of operations between Spite and Safe House. Often this means you can control how much damage Spite takes to some degree.

Driving Mantis only activates once per turn. What this means is that you only get one chance to say yes/no to redirecting damage to Mr. Fixer. For example, if Mr. Fixer will take 2 instances of damage in a turn, you cannot say NO to the first damage and YES to the second damage, as you have already missed your chance. Answering yes/no to the question uses it up. However, if you have a choice between Driving Mantis and Wrest The Mind, and you choose Wrest The Mind and redirect the damage, then Driving Mantis was never "asked" to be used, so it can still be used that turn.

Jack Handle effectively cancels the original damage, and causes a new set of damage dealing instance to all non-hero targets with the original damage amount/type/irreducibility.

Dual Crowbars works somewhat like Isothermic Transducer. The final damage dealt from the first instance of damage forms the initial amount/type/irreducibility of the second instance of damage. That means you can benefit twice from damage increases.

Hoist Chain stacks like Stun Bolt if Mr. Fixer damages the same target more than once.

If a “reveal” operation is interrupted, e.g. by an Ambuscade trap incapacitating the revealing hero, the revealed cards go back where they came from in the order that they were before.

Targets that are in the process of being destroyed (e.g. Explosives Wagon, Sonic Mine, other devices via Charged Attacks) can still be targeted and take more damage. (Note: in the video game we plan to put such targets behind the “Show All Targets” button)

If a card is damaging the X lowest HP targets, and in the middle of doing that a new lowest HP target appears, the targeting does not change. The originally chosen X targets are damaged. If a target disappears in the middle, the damage to that target fizzles and does not re-target.

When a card enters play, the following order of things occurs.

  1. Ongoing effects on the card become applicable.
  2. Cards that react to other cards entering play now act.
  3. One-time effects on the card happen.

A well-known example of this is Informant. Suppose Informant and Combat Stance are in play and Legacy plays Inspiring Presence.

  1. Damage dealt by hero targets is now increased by 1.
  2. Informant causes The Chairman to play a card. Suppose it’s Undivided Attention, damaging The Wraith. Combat Stance reacts and its damage is increased by 1 due to Inspiring Presence.
  3. All hero targets regain 1 HP.

Another example: Supercooled Trisolvent Vat and Synaptic Interruption. Suppose damage dealt to Tachyon is increased by 2. When Tachyon plays Synaptic Interruption, the Vat does 3 cold damage to Tachyon. Tachyon may redirect the damage and destroy Synaptic Interruption.

Damage aimed at the lowest or highest target looks for the lowest or highest non-destroyed target.

Once something is in the process of being destroyed, it will be destroyed. That includes being healed back to positive HP and becoming indestructible. Yes, even Fixed Point.

There is an exception to the order of operations ruling relating to reacting to damage being dealt. A card (or cards belonging to a hero/villain) that reacts to damage being dealt to it reacts before other cards do. The card dealing the damage and other interested cards happen afterwards and can be ordered by player choice.

Example: Suppose Mr. Fixer has Dual Crowbars and Bloody Knuckles in play. Omnitron has Adaptive Plating Subroutine but is not immune to anything yet. Mr. Fixer uses Strike to hit Omnitron for 3 melee damage. Omnitron's HP goes down by 3. Then, by this ruling, the text on Adaptive Plating Subroutine must react first and make Omnitron immune to melee damage. Then, the text on Dual Crowbars reacts and Mr. Fixer can deal damage to another target. Without this ruling, you could use Synaptic Interruption and careful ordering to hit Omnitron twice before it becomes immune to melee damage.

The wording on Superhuman Durability says “whenever Legacy would be dealt 5 or more damage” but does not get evaluated at the same time as other “would be dealt damage” effects. Instead, it gets evaluated with increase/reduce effects. This card, and any card that has a condition on the amount of damage and itself modifies the damage amount, are a special case.

Expatriette’s Ammo cards can be played without a gun in play. If that happens, the Ammo card goes to the trash (but is not destroyed).

Unload dynamically grants powers equal to the number of guns in play. For example, if Expatriette uses her innate power to play a gun card, it grants her an extra power. If you play Unload with no guns in play, you lose the power that you would normally have.

Shock Rounds text is adjusted to say “The first time that card’s power is used to damage a target, Expatriette deals each non-hero target 1 lightning damage. After that power is used, destroy this card.” This clarifies that the lightning damage only happens once.

If Mr. Fixer plays Overdrive more than once on a turn, he still only gets to use “Strike” twice in total on that turn.

Hairtrigger Reflexes + Forced Deployment (or Darken the Sky) cannot cause an infinite loop. All of the minions are first selected and removed from the trash, and played. New minions entering the trash during Forced Deployment’s effect are not returned.

If an ammo card is next to a gun card and the gun card is destroyed, the ammo card remains in play.

The Operative’s text is adjusted to say “When The Operative would be destroyed, her character card flips instead.” This clarifies that she behaves like Baron Blade, and Sucker Punch does not lead to shenanigans.

For the second instance of damage, Dual Crowbars is only restricted from selecting the target that was the final result of the first instance of damage (after all redirects).

Assuming a chicken and a half can lay an egg and a half in a day and a half, it takes 3 parsecs for a monkey with a wooden leg to kick all of the seeds out of a dill pickle.

If Twist the Ether is next to a card that deals irreducible damage, you can choose to reduce the damage (which does nothing).

If Infection is played while all active heroes are infected, and Fixed Point is in play, then Infection stays in play in Plague Rat’s play area.

Infection’s text is adjusted to say “When this card is played, if all active heroes are Infected, move this card to the Villain trash and play the top card of the Villain deck.” This clarifies that the card is not destroyed or discarded, just moved.

Blighted Street’s text is adjusted to say “After this card is destroyed, play the top card of the Villain deck.” This means it does not increase damage during that card play.

Afflicted Frenzy text is adjusted to say “if that Hero target is Infected...” This clarifies that incapacitated heroes do not deal damage because of Afflicted Frenzy.

---------- Infernal Relics Updates ----------

 
The Chairman is the source of the retaliatory damage on his “Chairman Pike” side.

If Anubis is not in play at the end of the environment turn, no damage is dealt and Judgement of Anubis is destroyed.

Chemical Explosion is updated to read: “Deal each target X toxic damage, where X = the number of Vat cards destroyed by this card plus 3.” This clarifies that it’s only about vats.

Urshe plays cards in the order they are revealed.

Rules of Malediction is updated to read: “After this card is destroyed” instead of “When this card is destroyed” to simplify timing issues. Similar updates will be made to other cards in the future.

Apostate’s front side is updated to read: “If Apostate would be destroyed…”

Apostate’s flip mechanics work as follows. 

  • On the front side, suppose he would be destroyed and there is a villain relic in play. The destruction is cancelled, the lowest HP villain relic is destroyed, and he flips. He’ll end up at 20 HP due to the text on his back side.

  • On the back side, suppose he would be dealt damage that would bring him to 0 HP or less and there is a villain relic in play. The damage is cancelled, the highest HP villain relic is destroyed, and he flips. This leaves him at the same HP he was before he flipped.


If Runes of Malediction is destroyed and there are more demons in the trash than H, the players get to choose which cards come into play, and the order in which they come into play. This works differently from Forced Deployment where ALL minions come into play. If players are selecting a set number of things to return, they can pick the order, but not when ALL are returned.

Shock Rounds’ text is updated again to read: “The first time that card’s power is used to damage any target, Expatriette deals each non-hero target 1 lightning damage. After that power is used, destroy this card.”

The Chairman cannot deal damage if he has been destroyed. Non-existent targets cannot deal damage.

When Liquid Nitrogen Rounds is used to destroy Sonic Mine, the damage from Sonic Mine is reduced by 1.

You must perform the actions listed on Arcane Cadence in order. If there are fewer than 5 cards in the deck for Arcane Cadence to reveal, you miss out on the actions from the end of the list.

Using Prejudice via the text on Pride counts as a power use. For example, play Embolden on Expatriette. On her turn, use Pride, then use Prejudice as part of that. You have now used two powers, and you’re done. If you were clever and used Prejudice first, then you could use Pride and trigger Prejudice a second time.

Relic Spirit’s text is updated to read: “At the end of the Villain turn, each Relic regains 1 HP. The first time a Relic Spirit is destroyed each turn, move (H) minus 1 Relic cards from the villain trash into play.”

When a Treasure card is in a hero’s play area and they are incapacitated, it stays there. It can be moved when a Trial is next destroyed.

Any cards that let a hero “destroy one of their cards” may not allow the hero to destroy their character card.

The Challenge of Fire allows each player to discard up to 3 cards, even if the total is more than H plus 2.

If you have an additional power use on your turn and have to skip your power phase due to Time Crawls, you don’t get to use a power.

Players can decide the order between Mad Bomber Blade and Hair-trigger Reflexes when a villain target enters play. Expatriette can first damage or destroy the target, then it goes under Blade; or it can go under Blade, and nothing else happens.

If Cedistic Dissonant is used to destroy the instrument that allowed it to be performed, it prevents the “accompany” part of that instrument from occurring.

Dual Crowbars applies both the irreducibility and “unredirectability” of the end result of the first damage to the starting point of the second damage.

If you play a card via Speed Loading, then skip your play and power phases, you do not get to draw an extra card. The rule book says: "If, for any reason, a player neither plays a card nor uses a power on their turn, then they may draw an additional card during their draw phase."

If Time Crawls is destroyed in the play card phase, its effect is removed and you do not have to skip your power phase.

If Oblivion is played and there is only one card in the deck, it does that card’s magic number damage to all targets. No subsequent damage is dealt to all non-hero targets.

The Ennead instructions card does not count as a villain card or as a card in play. It is nothing, but does things.

The wording on Scum & Villainy, Dr. Tremata, and Tony Taurus is updated to read “the Villain character card with the highest HP”. 

Players do not get to know the ordering of the character cards under the Shrine of the Ennead.

If a hero takes the damage for Lost Child, and that damage amount is 4, and Collateral Damage is in play, the players can decide the order in which the effects happen. If Lost Child is the only Victim Card in play, a hero taking the 4 damage from Spite could choose to move it under the Safe House and then there would be no Victim Card for Spite to destroy. However, if there were another victim card in play, Spite would get to destroy that one.

When an Ennead character card is moved from under the Shrine of the Ennead, it is a target entering play, but not a card entering play. Hair-trigger Reflexes may activate against it.

The face-down drug cards for Spite: Agent of Gloom are ordered randomly. The order remains constant during the game, so if you flip a face-up card back down, you can remember which one it is for later decisions.

Suppose you are facing Spite: Agent of Gloom and a Good Samaritan is in play. If you choose to play the top card of the villain deck and it is Lab Raid, the card is discarded and damage is dealt instead. Good Samaritan remains in play because no villain card was actually played.

When Mists of Time swaps the deck and trash, the top card of the deck becomes the bottom card of the trash.

One-shots are not considered or counted as “cards in play.” That means Into the Stratosphere or Cedistic Dissonant cannot destroy one-shots that are currently being played.

Treasure cards do not count towards the hero with the most/least cards in play, because they do not belong to a hero.

The cards revealed by Oblivion go into the trash in the same order that they were revealed.
 
---------- Mini-Pack 2 Updates ----------
 
When using The Super Scientific Tachyon’s incapacitated ability that reads: “Move the bottom card of a deck to the top of that deck now,” you get to see what the card is.
 
If NightMist has 1 card in hand while Amulet of the Elder Gods is in play and she would be dealt damage, she can discard the 1 card for no effect. Ground Pound works the same way.
 
If Self-Destruct Sequence is the last (or second-last) card in the environment deck, it causes a reshuffle. If there 1 or fewer cards left even after a reshuffle, put as many as possible into the countdown pile. If it's empty, you lose!
 
If the environment trash is empty and something reshuffles the trash into the deck, Akash’bhuta still flips.
 
In general, if an empty trash is supposed to be shuffled into its deck, you still shuffle the deck.
 
Suppose you attack Target A with Inferno’s first damage and it gets redirected to Target B. Target A is available for the next damages, and Target B is not (because Inferno says "other").
 
Suppose Desert’s Wrath is played and the Ennead character dealing damage gets incapacitated in the middle of the damage dealings. The damage dealing stops (another Ennead character does not pick up where they left off).
 
Spite: Agent of Gloom has new text added on both sides of his character card: “Face-down villain cards are indestructible.” This prevents Cedistic Dissonant and Into the Stratosphere from affecting those cards.
 
When Apostate's Tome of the Unknowable and Ammo Drop are both in play, Ammo Drop is still able to trigger the Tome's "play a card" effect when the Tome is destroyed. This is due to cards being in play during their own destruction.
 
Ancient Library: if some situation causes the hero to only draw 1 card, the environment still plays a card.
 
When there are multiple "when X would be destroyed, do Y instead" effects in play, the players decide which effect occurs. Only one effect can occur. This means that when Unforgiving Wasteland applies to a hero character card, or a villain that would flip instead of being destroyed, the players can choose whether the card flips or is removed from the game.
 
Unforgiving Wasteland: When a hero is destroyed by an environment target and removed from the game, their cards are still removed from the game as well.
 
The wording on Infection is changed to read: “Play the top card of the villain deck. Then, discard this card.”
 
An Isolated Hero cannot deal damage to or be dealt damage by any other hero.
 
Suppose Haka has some of Unity’s cards (typically, mechanical golems) under Savage Mana, and then Haka or Unity becomes an Isolated Hero. If  Haka uses the power on Savage Mana, the Unity cards are not destroyed. They stay under Savage Mana.
 
Hero cards that look for the highest/lowest HP target will ignore hero targets belonging to an Isolated Hero. For example, if Smoke Bombs is in play, it will look for the highest or lowest HP hero targets that do not belong to an Isolated Hero. 
 
If GI Bunker uses his innate power on a target, and an Isolated Hero deals damage to that target, the damage is not made irreducible.
 
If The Wraith is the only hero target and Smoke Bombs is in play, it does not redirect the damage, but still reduces damage dealt to the Wraith by 1. This also happens if The Wraith is an Isolated Hero.
 
The damage reduction of Expect the Worst occurs at the same resolution step as damage redirection. That means you cannot choose to reduce the damage to 0 and then apply increase damage effects.
 
If Throat Jab is played during the start of The Wraith’s turn (due to Spite: Agent of Gloom & a victim), the effect expires at the start of The Wraith's NEXT turn.
 
If a target would gain HP but the amount it gains is 0, any triggers that happen on HP gain do not occur. This means "gaining 0 HP" does not cause Mortal Form to Energy to "deal 0 damage."
 
Cards that say “whenever a card is played” or “whenever a card enters play” do not react to Ambuscade's trap cards being flipped up and shuffled into the deck.
 
Spite: Agent of Gloom is changed to say "Whenever a Lab Raid would enter play" instead of "Whenever a Lab Raid would be played". 
 
Suppose NightMist, Amulet of the Elder Gods, and Citizens Tears and Blood are in play. If Citizen Tears deals damage to NightMist, that damage is increased by the cards NIghtMist discards to redirect the damage using the Amulet.
 
If Embolden is next to Haka, and Haka or Fanatic becomes an Isolated Hero, then Embolden remains where it is. However, it no longer confers a benefit to Haka. At the end of Haka's turn, Fanatic cannot deal damage to Haka so Embolden is destroyed.
 
However, Wrest the Mind and Twist the Ether work differently due to their text. Once either hero become isolated, these cards no longer have a valid target next to them and so are destroyed.
 
Suppose Explosive Bubbles is at full HP and we have selected the 5 targets with the highest HP. If Explosive Bubbles hits Ra first, and he has Flame Barrier, Ra hits the bubbles back for 2 HP. At this point, Explosive Bubbles will hit 2 more targets. You need to re-evaluate the 2 highest HP targets from the subset of originally chosen highest HP targets. Note: this is not yet fixed in the video game, but will be in a later update.
 
Suppose Hair-trigger Reflexes is in play and The Matriarch plays a Fowl card. Expatriette may choose to deal damage to the Fowl card before the top card of the villain deck is played. Note: this is not yet fixed in the video game, but will be in a later update.
 
The Scholar of the Infinite's innate power only considers cards discarded by The Scholar himself. The wording on the cards matter for agency. For example, consider Miss Information's card "Missing Resources." Suppose you choose to reveal the top card of The Scholar's deck. Any cards The Scholar then discards will count toward his innate power. However, the revealed card is discarded by Miss Information, and so it does not count toward the innate power. Another example: cards discarded by The Super Scientific Tachyon's innate power do not count.
 
The Scholar of the Infinite's innate power deals damage first to The Scholar, then to 1 target. You may not choose another order. The Scholar can choose himself as the second target.
 
Tachyon a Synaptic Interruption in play. She plays Lightspeed Barrage to deal damage to herself, then redirects it to another target so that Synaptic Interruption is destroyed. The Synaptic Interruption now in the trash counts towards the damage dealt by Lightspeed Barrage (effectively increasing it by 1).
 
Mr. Fixer is an Isolated Hero and plays Grease Gun. When a non-hero target tries to deal damage to a hero target, and cannot, this does not count as “affecting another hero."
 
On Apostate's flip side, the "reduced to 0 HP" check occurs before Apostate would be destroyed. This means that Unforgiving Wasteland cannot trigger in this case.
 
If a hero is removed from the game by Unforgiving Wasteland, the value of "H" does not change.
 
Update to previous ruling: if an Ammo card is played but there are no Guns in play, the Ammo card goes to the trash but is not destroyed.
 
When incapacitated Geb has each player put the top card of their deck on the bottom of their deck, the players can look at the cards.
 
"Explosion" in the Lab card text is updated to replace "hero" with "player".
 
Proverbs and Axioms: players may choose to neither gain HP or deal themselves damage and use a power.
 
Fanatic must choose a positive integer for Sacrosanct Martyr.
 
---------- Shattered Timelines, Wrath of the Cosmos, & Mini-Pack 3 Updates ----------
 
(see replies below)
 
----------
 
Last Updated: July 25, 2016 (massive update)
 
Edited by: Pydro on Jan 3 2017 - 6:10am
MigrantP
MigrantP's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 hours 53 min ago
Joined: May 22, 2012

Cards like Combat Stance and Quark Drive (that say “the first time X”) have an implicit “since this card entered play”. This also applies to Omnitron's components and Rooftop Combat.

“Indestructible” means that the card cannot be moved from the play area for any reason, including returning to hand, being put on top of a deck, etc.

When Fixed Point is destroyed, it does not look into the past to determine if anything should be destroyed. For example, multiple Tool cards in play do not return to hand (until the next time a Tool card is played). The only thing that happens when Fixed Point is destroyed is that targets with <= 0 HP, and are no longer indestructible, are destroyed. 

When Dual Crowbars and Jack Handle are in play at the same time and Mr. Fixer deals damage, the following occurs. Mr. Fixer deals the damage to all non-hero targets (due to Jack Handle). Then once that is fully resolved, Dual Crowbars takes effect based on the damage dealt to the first target. That damage is dealt to all non-hero targets (due to Jack Handle).

When two Jack Handles are in play, nothing happens differently from one Jack Handle in play.

When two Dual Crowbars are in play, a third damage happens after the second (based on that damage dealt). The third damage is allowed to choose the target of the first damage, because it's a new Dual Crowbar effect.

Rule from the Front requires you to either discard 2 cards or destroy 1 card. The only way you won’t do one of these things is if you have no cards in hand and no non-indestructible/character cards. For example, if you have a card to destroy and fewer than 2 cards in hand, you cannot choose to discard.

If Fixed Point is in play and Rule from the Front is played, you must choose to discard cards because you cannot destroy any of your cards.

While Fixed Point is in play, Aegis of Resurrection still takes effect immediately when Fanatic is reduced to <= 0 HP. Same thing with Apostate on his back side, or any other cards that still have “reduced to 0 or less HP.”

Heroes removed from the game via Unforgiving Wasteland still get an "empty turn" that consists of Start of Turn and End of Turn. This prevents problems like Galvanize or Throat Jab never expiring.

When La Capitan moves a card under herself to the appropriate trash to prevent damage, the players pick from card backs. They do not get to see what the card is, just who it belongs to.

The "cannot use powers" effect from Walk the Plank is tied to the damage. If the damage is redirected, the effect applies to whoever was dealt damage.

Temporal Thief allows players to select the order that the cards move under La Capitan. They get to see what the cards are. If a hero’s deck has no cards, they are not affected and it does not cause a reshuffle.

Rulebook addition: When given the option to destroy one of your cards, you cannot choose to destroy one of your character cards.

“The Ultimate Target” is not destroyed if the target to which it is attached leaves play. It stays in the play area where the target was.

“No Executions” is not destroyed if the target leaves play by means other than destruction (e.g. Into the Stratosphere).

“No Executions” prevents the card from being destroyed, so other effects that would happen when the card is destroyed do not occur.

Shock Round's wording is changed once again, to: “Play this card next to a gun card.  After that card’s power is used to damage a target, Expatriette deals each non-hero target 1 lightning damage. Then, destroy this card.”

Suppose Fixed Point is in play and Omnitron is dealt 7 or more damage in the round (with components in play). Its components are not destroyed due to Fixed Point. Once Fixed Point is destroyed, the components are destroyed immediately because Omnitron had been dealt 7 or more damage in the round.

The heroes lose if The Dreamer is destroyed or removed from the game.

Rulebook change: When a hero would be destroyed, they are incapacitated, instead.

Chrono-Ranger may choose the bounty card from the trash that gets put into play by Ranger's Mark. The wording is updated to read "Select 1 bounty card from your trash and put it into play."

If “The Ultimate Target” is on a target, and that target deals damage such that it is destroyed after having dealt its damage (via reaction damage for example), Chrono-Ranger still gets to use a power.

Chain Lightning and Grenade Launcher work like Inferno in that the available targets for the later damages are based on the target actually dealt damage by the previous ones (including redirects).

If "Scattered Mind" is next to a hero and they deal damage to multiple targets, they have to discard 1 card for each target dealt damage.

When a card is in play, and is indestructible, something can cause it to be moved under another card, since technically it is still in play.

Auxiliary Power Supply works like a “Destroy this card. If you do…” card, in that you must destroy the card to get the effect. The wording is updated to make that clear.

Police Backup does not care about the agency of discarding, like the Scholar of the Infinite's innate power. It just cares that a villain card caused a hero card to be discarded.

Lady Luck reveals a card when Kismet herself would be destroyed, and will prevent her destruction if the revealed card is not a Lucky card and her HP is >= 0. If it is a Lucky card, she will be destroyed. Specifically, if the card is Fortune's Smile and her HP is <= 0, she may regain HP to above 0, but since she's in the process of being destroyed, the game will still end. 

When Fixed Point is in play, and a card is played that goes “next to a non-character target” but there are no such targets, the card cannot enter play and goes to the trash.

Cards that go next to other cards are considered to enter play next to the other card. So for example, if you play Energy Bracer next to a hero and Surprise Shopping Trip reacts, the damage to the hero is reduced by 1 by the Energy Bracer.

Infection cannot enter play if there are no valid targets for it. It moves to the trash and then the top card of the villain deck is played.

The wording of Walk the Plank is changed in order to clarify that the "cannot use powers" effect happens to the target that receives the damage. The new wording is: “La Capitan deals the hero character card with the highest HP 3 projectile damage. A hero dealt damage this way cannot use powers until the start of the villain turn.”

If The Scholar plays Don’t Dismiss Anything, and he ends up playing Know When To Hold Fast, the remaining effect of Don’t Dismiss Anything still resolves, then he ends his turn.

The wording of Potent Disruption is changed to clarify that a construct must be destroyed for the damage to be dealt. The new wording is: "Destroy 1 Construct card. If you do, Captain Cosmic deals 1 target energy damage equal to the HP of the destroyed Construct card plus 1."

In the video game, Sky-Scraper’s Link cards say "next to" rather than “in front of” for consistency. Link cards  stay in the target’s play area after that target leaves play, similar to The Ultimate Target.

If there is no villain character card in play, Neutralizing Resonator cannot be played.

Kaargra Warfang's character card flip side is updated to read: "When flipped to this side, set Kaargra Warfang’s HP to 40."

Captain Cosmic decides the target of the damage dealt by Autonomous Blade.

If a Construct card is next to a target and that target leaves play, the Construct card just sits in that target’s play area. In the case of a hero becoming incapacitated, the construct stays put, just hanging out. In the case of a hero being removed from the game, the hero play area is still there, but the construct is now lonely. If there is a chain of “next to” constructs and one in the middle is destroyed, the chain is broken, but they all hang out in play where they are.

If there are two Sustained Influence cards out, and a construct card is destroyed, you can only destroy one of them to put the card back into play.

Suppose Dynamic Siphon is on a card, and it is dealt some damage and is destroyed, but Sustained Influence brings it back into play. It no longer allows a power usage for the card it is now next to, or was next to. Same goes for Vitality Conduit. When destroyed, constructs get amnesia.

If Haka has projection cards under Savage Mana, and he destroys them to use the power, the projection cards go to the villain trash because cards under Savage Mana have no keywords.

Since Ambuscade’s Trap cards never enter play, they are not affected by Fixed Point in any way.

Progeny’s flips depend on if any heroes have < 10 HP. This excludes those that have no hit points at all because they are incapacitated.

Severed Ley-Line does not make the villain nor environment shuffle their trash into their deck.

The secondary effect on “The Ataxia Sphere” is tied to the target actually dealt damage. The wording is updated to read:  “At the end of the villain turn, this card deals the hero target with the lowest HP 2 infernal damage. If a hero character card is dealt damage this way, that hero’s player must either discard 1 card or shuffle their trash into their deck.”

Sky-Scraper can swap character cards if Fixed Point is in play.

Crowd's Favor: “A hero target deals 2 or more damage to multiple non-hero targets in a single turn.” This adds the token immediately upon the second damage, but only once per turn. A token cannot be added to the pool by the same target more than once per turn for this reason. 

Crowd's Favor: “A villain target destroys a non-villain target." This does not add a token if a villain incapacitates a hero.

Crowd's Favor: If multiple targets are dealt 4 or more damage each, you get 1 token for each target, plus 1 for having damaged multiple targets for 2 or more.
If Embolden is on a hero and that hero becomes incapacitated, Embolden stays there until the end of that hero’s next turn.

When Title cards are played from the top of the Title deck, they are cards being “played” and they are “cards entering play”, as normal.

When Title cards are automatically moved to a target (e.g. Bloodsworn Judgement) they are entering play.

Bloodsworn Judgement's text is updated to change "flip" to "reveal" and now reads: “Each player destroys one of their ongoing or equipment cards. Reveal the top card of the Title deck and put it under the villain target with the highest HP with the title effects still visible.”

The age-old question: When a title looks at something “this turn” (example Title: “Champion”), it only cares about what has happened since the card came into play. It does not look back in time.

Suppose Champion is under target A. While it’s there, target B destroys 3 targets in one turn. Then, target A is destroyed and the Champion card goes back to the Title Deck area. It does not now consider target B to be the Champion, because that game text was not in play while target B was destroying the other targets. Effectively, it checks since the card last entered the title deck play area.

When Kaargra’s advanced rule on her flipped side causes title cards to be placed under her, these count as cards entering the villain play area.

If there are no villain targets in play when “Bloodsworn Judgement” is played, a title card still gets revealed and then "discarded." If the title deck has no cards, this part is ignored.

Title: “Chaos Lord” excludes cards that were "put into play" by the player. Cards played by another source (e.g. Set’s incapped side) do not count. Cards belonging to other heroes do not count (e.g. Omnitron-X’s base power).

For Title: “Reckless”, when a target deals themself damage and gets the title, they do not immediately gain 1 HP for having just been dealt damage, because they didn’t have that effect when they dealt themselves damage. Same for “The Mindbreaker.”

Infinitor’s advanced rule says “At the end of the villain turn, play cards from the top of the villain deck until at least H + 1 manifestation cards are in play.” If there are so many manifestation cards under Savage Mana or out of game from Unforgiving Wasteland, that may not be possible. Once there are no Manifestations in Infinitor’s villain deck or trash, stop.

If Kaargra Warfang is removed from the game, the heroes win.

Ruling change: Additional/granted powers work like additional/granted card plays. For example, if you put Embolden on Expatriette, and she uses Pride and then Prejudice (from Pride), she still has one power use remaining. This makes additional/granted powers work like the combination of HUD Goggles and Lightning Reflexes, for example.

MigrantP
MigrantP's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 hours 53 min ago
Joined: May 22, 2012


When Provocator Tarnis redirects “the first damage to a non-hero target beside himself each turn”, and Tempest is dealing multiple instances of damage, only the first target that would receive damage gets the damage redirected.

The Crowd’s Favor card says “When a hero target destroys a non-hero target” (gain a token). If Tachyon uses Sucker Punch to destroy a target, the heroes get a token. Death Caller also counts.

The Crowd’s Favor token count can go above 20.

The wording on Heroic Infinitor's card is adjusted to clarify that when a Manifestation would enter play, Infinitor will regain 4 HP. Other cards (such as Hairtrigger Reflexes) can then react, but cannot prevent the HP gain. If the Manifestation is then fully in play and has not been shot or otherwise destroyed, Infinitor destroys the Manifestation. The new wording is: “Whenever a manifestation would enter play, Infinitor gains 4 HP. When it enters play, it is destroyed.”

Heroic Infinitor says “Infinitor deals each non-villain target 2 energy damage. Any target dealt damage this way deals itself 2 irreducible psychic damage.” The first round of damage occurs, then the second round occurs afterward.

Heroic Infinitor is only a hero target on his front side, but is a villain target on his flipped side.

Heroic Infinitor is NOT a villain target on his front side.

On his front side, the only way to win is by not having any manifestations in play.

On his flipped side, the only way to win is to defeat Infinitor (as normal).

Heroic Infinitor is not a hero character card. He is a hero target, but his card is a villain character card. He is a non-villain target, but he’s not a non-hero target.

Suppose Savage Mana has a title (e.g. Imbued Vitality + Stonejaw). When Haka uses the power, the title is destroyed. The same thing can happen with Omni-Cannon.

The wording on Dymkharn the Fearless is changed to: “Whenever this card is dealt damage, this card becomes immune to damage for the rest of the current turn.”

Suppose Sky-Scraper uses the innate power on her Huge card during her Start or Play a Card phases, and also switches to her Tiny card before her Use a Power phase. (e.g. due to Dynamic Siphon). In her Use a Power phase, she can use her Tiny innate power because she has not used that power yet this turn.

The wording on Crowd's Favor is adjusted for clarity to read: "A hero target deals 2 or more damage at once to multiple non-hero targets in a single turn." and "A villain target deals 2 or more damage at once to multiple non-villain targets in a single turn."

Suppose you play Catch a Ride and use Mr. Fixer, who has Jack Handle in play. Mr. Fixer hits everyone, and Sky-Scraper picks one of them to hit.

Sub-Zero Atmosphere affects Heroic Infinitor’s character card. It moves Heroic Infinitor’s “Deal 1 Manifestation 2 melee damage” to the start of the villain turn.

If you choose an indestructible target for Final Dive, nothing is destroyed, and then no damage is dealt.

Hasty Augmentation increases the damage on Omnitron-U’s innate power.

“Lemme See That…” says “treat ‘you’ on that card means Guise’s player.” However, “I Can Do That, Too!” And “Uh, Yeah I’m that Guy” don’t say that. They should behave the same way. Their text in the video game is updated accordingly.

When “Um, Yeah, I’m that guy” copies a card with "when this card enters play" effects, it works as follows. If the other card is already in play,and “I’m that guy” is played, the "when this card enters play" effects occur again. For example, with Inspiring Presence, all hero targets regain 1 HP. If “I’m that guy” is already in play and then the other card enters play, the "when this card enters play" effects do not occur twice, because "I’m That Guy" is not entering play anew.
“I’m that guy” only copies the game text of the ongoing card, not the keywords and title of the ongoing card.

Giving a high-five is NOT optional.

If Breaking the Rules is in play, players may draw an additional card in their draw card phase (if they neither play a card nor use a power in their end of turn phase).

Suppose there are 4 heroes. If Playing Dice with the Cosmos comes into play on the 4th hero’s turn, the other 3 heroes get another turn before the environment turn.

Suppose Breaking the Rules comes into play at the end of a hero turn. That hero now gets another draw, power, play, and start phase.

Wager Master’s “Put X hero cards from play back into their player’s hands” text excludes their character card.

“Pick a Card, Pick a Fate” says “Choose a keyword.” This means any keyword that could possibly be in Wager Master’s deck.

For Guise’s 3rd incap ability, if there are H environment cards, and then destroying one of them somehow causes two more environment cards to come out, thereby causing there to be H + 1 environment cards in play, another one gets destroyed.

If Guise cannot use powers, he cannot use “I Can Do That Too” to use another hero’s power.

If Guise uses “I Can Do That Too” twice in the same turn, he cannot use the same other hero’s power twice.

If Guise uses “I Can Do That Too” on a hero’s power (say Mr. Fixer), Mr. Fixer is allowed to use that same power in the same turn.

When Guise uses “I Can Do That Too” to cause an ongoing effect (such as Galvanize), Guise is responsible for that effect, not the original hero. This can matter for cards like Isolated Hero.

When Guise uses “Lemme See That” on Scrap Metal so that he gets one of Unity’s bots in his hand, when he plays that bot, it goes to Unity's play area. More generally, when a card is played from a hand, it goes to its owner’s play area, unless something specifically says otherwise. 

If Guise uses an instrument to activate a song, all the decisions and effects from the song belong to Guise. For example, with Cedistic Dissonant, Guise decides which card to destroy, and he discards and draws cards.

When “I’m That Guy” copies “Heroic Interception” it results in all hero targets being immune to damage.

If “Bloogo” has a card next to him, and at the end of the environment turn that is the target with the lowest HP, he goes next to it, but it is still next to him. To avoid creating a black hole in the video game, he moves back to the environment play area while this is happening, but still protects that target.

Advanced Infinitor: When “cards are played from the top of the villain deck until at least {H + 1} Manifestation cards are in play,” but Infinitor cannot play cards, then no cards are played. The whole effect is cancelled. 

The hero cards put in the villain deck from "What do you really know?" follow similar rules to Ambuscade's trap cards (i.e., the thing goes off even if it's part of revealing cards, etc).

Suppose Sky-Scraper is using her Huge power to deal some damages, and in the middle of that she switches to another of her character cards (dynamic siphon LOL). The damage dealing stop. Same thing with her other innate powers; they are interrupted by switching character cards.

If Guise plays Tool Box from his hand, it goes to Mr. Fixer's play area and Mr. Fixer draws the cards, not Guise.

If Guise uses “Lemme See That…” on one of Omnitron-X’s Plating cards, when Omnitron-X uses Reactive Plating Subroutine, that plating card still counts.

If both copies of Overcharged Systems are in play, the start of turn effects do not happen twice at the end of the environment turn.

If Techno-Pursuer destroys itself, it does not play the top card of the environment deck.

Wager Master’s flipped side says “Flip one (a face-down card) and treat it as if it had just been played”. When other cards of Wager Master flip a face-down card face-up, they do not act as if the card had just been played. However, they are in play and their game text is now in effect.

“Treat it as if it had just been played” causes the order of start/end of turn effects to be changed.

If “Breaking the Rules” is out, and a hero plays a card that has “immediately end your turn” in it, they go back to the “End” phase and they get to do the next 4 phases again.

With “The New Deal”, if a hero incapacitates themself, the game ends immediately.

If hero target A deals itself damage from “The New Deal”, and that damage is redirected to hero B, and hero B becomes incapacitated, that still counts as “is incapacitated this way.” Counter damage that a hero target deals itself because of something like “Combat Stance” does not count.

Wager Master does not gain HP from “The New Deal” when Wager Master himself flips to his back side, because villain character cards cannot be flipped “face-down”. He does not gain HP if “The New Deal” card itself gets flipped, as the card loses the game text before the effect occurs.

With “What do you really know?”, players can see which cards are being removed from their decks.

When Wager Master's deck has a hero card in it, and that hero is incapacitated, the cards are removed from the deck as part of being removed from the game.

When Spite makes players return cards to their hands, an equipment card that Guise has taken with Lemme See That goes to Guise’s hand.

“Uh Yeah I’m That Guy” can copy the text of ongoings that are next to other cards, but those effects do nothing because "I'm That Guy" is not next to another card.

Guise's first incapacitated ability does nothing if a player discards something with only Mechanical Golem, Construct, or similar keywords.

If a hero has extra powers, for example from Plague Rat’s flipped side, those are not selectable for “I Can Do That Too” because they are not printed on an active hero character card in play.

When “I’m That Guy” copies Sky-Scraper's ongoing card that says “Switch to Sky-Scraper’s Huge character card”, which becomes “Switch to Guise’s Huge character card,” nothing happens.

When Bunker has a Mode card, and Guise plays “I’m That Guy”, it executes the “When this card enters play, destroy all other mode cards.” That destroys Bunker’s Mode card, and therefore “I’m That Guy” doesn’t really end up copying it. This also happens with Mr. Fixer's style cards.

If Guise uses Jack Handle, and then plays “Look What I Found”, if any targets hit by the effect are still in play, Guise gets a single +1 to his next damage.

If Guise has “I’m That Guy” in play, and then uses “I Can Do That Too” on the Argent Adept, the Perform texts on AA’s songs should also be on “I’m That Guy”. While this is technically correct, it's unnecessary and so is not implemented in the video game.

If Guise has another hero’s cards in his hand, and he is incapacitated, the cards move to the other hero's trash.

With Santa Guise’s first power, the player does not get to see which card is going face-down in their play area. In the video game, they can look at their deck but it will include the face-down cards, so they cannot determine which ones are their presents.
With Santa Guise’s second power, the other player chooses the order of their own cards. The “choose for me” button uses the order they entered play.

For Santa Guise’s second incapacitated ability “One hero uses a power, then turns one hero non-character card in play face-down”, they are not allowed to select a hero non-character card in play that is already face-down.

For Santa Guise’s third incapacitated ability, “Flip 1 face-down card, treating it as put into play”, he can select Wager Master’s or Agent of Gloom’s face-down cards.

If Guise uses “Lemme See That” to take “Jack Handle”, and then uses “I Can Do That, Too” to use the power “Squall," then for each target hit by the power, Jack Handle takes effect. For example, if there are 4 targets in play, Guise will deal 1 damage 4 times each to the 4 targets (16 times in total). Gross.

If it’s a limited # of targets like Thermal Shockwave, the same applies. If it hits 3 targets, then Jack Handle fires 3 times.

When “An Unwise Wager” is in play and a hero is incapacitated, when the cards of their deck are removed from the game, it does not count for “if any hero deck ever has no cards in it.” There’s not an empty deck - the deck no longer exists.

If Unwise Wager flips Unanswerable Question face-up, it immediately goes to the trash.

“I’m That Guy” copies all the Ongoing cards next to cards in a hero’s play area. It does not copy the hero’s ongoing cards that are elsewhere. For example, suppose Embolden is next to Chrono-Ranger, and you high-five Chrono-Ranger. “I’m That Guy” has the text of Embolden (which doesn't do anything, anyway). It does not have the text of bounties in play elsewhere.
 

MigrantP
MigrantP's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 hours 53 min ago
Joined: May 22, 2012

---------- Season 2 Preview Pack Updates ----------

The Seeker title is not awarded if the target dealing the damage has an effect like Stun Bolt on them. The damage reduction needs to be on the target, not the damage dealer. However, global damage reduction (e.g. Defensive Displacement) does count.

If I’m That Guy copies the text of Infection, and all heroes are infected (including Guise), then it would trigger a discard of “Uh, yeah, I’m that guy” and play the top card of the villain deck, as per the first line of Infection. “Uh, yeah, I’m that guy” goes to Guise's trash. Barring ultimate shenanigans (which Guise is always shooting for, unfortunately) cards try to go to their specific trash - it is very rare and usually specifically pointed out if a card should go to a trash other than the one they are associated with.

If I'm That Guy copies Jinx cards, there is no effect (similar to copying most other "next-to" cards).

If Setback tries to remove tokens but does not have enough, all of his tokens are removed and there is no effect. Example: Uncharmed Life. He can either remove 2 tokens or 0 tokens. If he removes 0 tokens, nothing happens. If he removes 2, the damage is redirected. If he attempts to remove 2 and only has 1, then 1 token is removed and nothing happens.

Wrong Time and Place tracks the first time each turn that each individual hero target would be dealt damage (similar to how Combat Stance works).

Suppose Mr. Fixer would deal 1 damage to a target. Due to Jack Handle, Mr. Fixer deals the 1 damage to all non-hero targets, then Friendly Fire lets him deal 2 to Setback, which becomes 2 to all non-hero targets, and then stops. Setback does not get to add 2 tokens to his Unlucky Pool, as he was not damaged this way.

If the damage intended to go to Setback from Friendly Fire gets redirected to a non-hero target, Friendly Fire does not allow Setback to take damage again from this redirected damage.

Suppose Guise has Dual Crowbars and then uses I Can Do That Too on Sky-Scraper’s Huge card. After the first “round” of damage (to non-hero targets), Dual Crowbars causes Guise to deal as much damage as was dealt to the first non-hero target to one more target. Then, after the second “round” of damage (to hero targets), Dual Crowbars causes Guise to deal as much damage as was dealt to the first hero to one more target. (This is how Dual Crowbars interacts with Jack Handle)

When Santa Guise uses his second power, he can choose a hero who has no face down cards in their play area.

Some cards in the video game can give hints as to the nature of the face down "present" cards (e.g. Technological Advancement tells you how many components/equipment are in the deck). Also, Technological Advancement lets you “search your deck” which on the tabletop would allow you to know for sure what your presents are, but we don’t do this in the video game. The video game just works slightly differently than the tabletop game in this case. 

Let’s say that the Scholar has “Flesh to Iron” out, and Setback has “Wrong Time and Place” out. Suppose 3 damage is initiated to the Scholar, and thus would be reduced by 2. Because The Scholar WOULD be dealt 1 damage, you only remove 1 token from your Unlucky Pool to redirect it. However, because Setback is NOT The Scholar, he takes the full 3 damage.

“I Can Do That Too” does not allow Guise to discard a card with “Guise” in the title when using Eternal Haka’s innate power, because the text "Haka" in the power is not referring to Haka's name. But that’s hilarious.

Suppose a limited card is flipped face-up by Santa Guise, and another copy is already in play. Normally, the newly flipped face-up card goes to the trash. However, if it is indestructible (e.g. due to Fixed Point) then it flips back over again.

If Guise uses “I Can Do That Too” on Dark Watch Setback, then the effects “stack.” It works like two instances of Stealth from The Wraith.

Ocular Swarm does not react to other manifestations being destroyed if the Ocular Swarm has already been destroyed. For example, suppose an Ocular Swarm is in play and Heroic Infinitor flips. He destroys the Ocular Swarm, which reveals the top card of the villain deck - a Lambent Reaper. The Lambent Reaper enters play, and is destroyed (by Heroic Infinitor’s text). The Ocular Swarm does not react because that text has already left play.

Suppose “Wrong Time and Place” is out, and Tachyon is about to deal herself damage to keep Pushing the Limits. That damage can be redirected to Setback, or he can remove 2 tokens from his unlucky pool to redirect it. He is not allowed to redirect it back to Tachyon so she can keep Pushing the Limits. You’re EITHER redirecting to Setback OR redirecting from Target A to somewhere else - you cannot redirect from Target A to Target A, so you cannot redirect from Tachyon to Tachyon. Follow-up: If you have the tokens, you must redirect damage that would be dealt to Setback that meets these qualifications.

If Heroic Infinitor gets removed from the game by the Unforgiving Wasteland, this is considered a win. Infinitor getting removed from the game can’t be a loss due to a lack of “lose the game” text.

Whenever Defiant Looters discards an equipment card, it immediately moves it to the owner's hand (before discarding the next card).

When a hero is incapacitated, any copies of Shinobi Assassin in their deck are moved to the Environment trash.

Title: The Unbreakable does not work the same as Aegis of Resurrection. It cancels the damage AND then provides a heal. And then destroys itself.

You can choose 0 tokens for Cash Out and Exceeded Expectations.

If an Ammo card is flipped face up when Fixed Point is in play, and no guns are in play, it just stays where it is, face up in Expatriette’s play area. Since it’s indestructible it cannot go to the trash.

When you put a card under Resurrection Ritual, it goes directly underneath, on top of any other cards already underneath.

A target cannot get The Seeker if damage was redirected and reduced by Smoke Bombs, because that target does not have its own damage reducing effect.

The Rites of Revival process is unique in that it is uninterruptable. Once it begins, it will finish all the text on that card, even if Rites of Revival is destroyed in the process. Cards that would react to a target entering play, react AFTER the whole process has been completed. The clause about “cannot deal damage to environment targets” can be interrupted if the card is destroyed. There is a text change to Rites of Revival: “draw 2 cards” is changed to read “puts 2 cards from the top of their deck into their hand”.

Chokepoint’s “the first time a hero card would be discarded” effect triggers cards discarded from hand or from the top of a deck.

If a target is destroyed by the damage from Empowered Self-Repair, then Chokepoint gains HP (even if the damage was redirected).

If Harvest the Mighty damage is redirected, you still select a card from the original target's play area.

If a hero card is removed from the game by Unforgiving Wasteland, and Kinetic Looter is in play, the card is ignored because it’s no longer in the game. 

The text of Prime Wardens Captain Cosmic’s innate power has changed; the word "instead" is removed. This is intended to change the behavior of the power. Those cards are now destroyed, triggering any destruction effects.

When Santa Guise moves Shinobi Assassin from the top of the hero deck to the hero’s play area (remaining face down), nothing special happens. But when it is flipped and played, then it goes to the environment play area.

Other situations where Setback does not end up being the target of Friendly Fire damage work similarly to the Jack Handle + Friendly Fire scenario. Example: Immutus is out. AZ deals damage to himself, which is redirected to Immutus. Then he chooses to deal damage to Setback, and that is also redirected. Friendly Fire does not take effect again.

When calculating damage, “the next time A is dealt damage, reduce that damage by B” effects go last in the reductions list. The reason is that if the amount has already reached 0, there’s no need to use it up. “The first time A is dealt damage, reduce that damage by B” effects also go after other effects, but before "the next time" effects.

Suppose Prophetic Vision is used on the environment deck, and Shinobi Assassin is revealed. It immediately enters play and deals its damage. It counts as one of the 3 cards revealed, so the Visionary would only have 2 cards to choose from for the rest of Prophetic Vision.

Suppose there’s a card in play being destroyed that has an on-destroy effect (ex Apprentice Poisoner). If Chokepoint destroys that card, it will then be moved face-down to her play area. The effect of Apprentice Poisoner still happens.

Dark Watch Setback can use his power to reduce damage even if he has 0 tokens in his Unlucky Pool.

Suppose Sky-Scraper has Cortex Hyperstimulator and Rebounding Debilitator on the same target. If after the reduction it is still above 3 damage, it gets prevented. The temporary damage reduction is used up.

Suppose a Construct and Sustained Influence are in play. Chokepoint destroys the construct, and three conflicting things try to happen. 
1) the Construct tries to go to the Trash, 2) the Construct tries to come back into play due to Sustained Influence, and 3) Chokepoint tries to flip the Construct, because she’s a jerk. 1) is not going to happen, as everything else has priority over standard actions. 2) and 3) have equal priority, and one happening disallows the other, so the players choose one of the two. If it’s face down, it cannot be put into play, as it has lost its keyword. If it’s back in play, it shouldn’t be turned face down because it’s not destroyed.

With Advanced Chokepoint on her flipped side, it says “when a hero card would be discarded, move it face down to the villain play area instead.” If The Scholar chooses to discard a card to keep an elemental active at the start of his turn, and that card ends up going to Chokepoint’s play area, it still counts as a discard. The player still discarded the card, then the other thing happened. So Chokepoint still steals the card, but the player gets the positive effect.

When there are two copies of Friendly Fire in play, they both can be activated (but not off each other's damage), which means Setback would get hit twice and get a total of 4 tokens. In the case of Jack Handle, this would generate two Jack Handle attacks, but zero tokens, as Setback was not hit.

Suppose Aggression Modulator is next to an environment target and Chokepoint destroys it with Stripped Resources. The Aggression Modulator stays in the environment play area next to nothing.

Flipping cards face down removes all cards next to/attached to/whatever because the face down card loses everything else but its type and should also lose such connections.

Suppose Shocking Animation goes next to an equipment card, then that equipment card is selected for Ireful Grasp. Shocking Animation can’t be connected to a face down card because nothing can be connected to a face down card. As a result, Shocking Animation would get destroyed, as per the last clause of its text, as a very similar action has occurred.

Suppose Sky-Scraper is incapacitated and has used the “become a target” incapacitated ability. If she is revived using Rites of Revival, the 1 HP indestructible target status is wiped, and she is her regular self at 8 HP with a 33 HP max and is fully destructible. Rites of Revival essentially resets the character, starting anew.

MigrantP
MigrantP's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 hours 53 min ago
Joined: May 22, 2012

---------- Vengeance Updates ----------

Various hero character card wordings have been updated in the 5th Anniversary Foil Hero Collection. All of them have been updated in the video game and any behaviour changes have been implemented. Notable changes:

  • America's Newest Legacy - her incapacitated ability now affects heroes instead of hero targets.
  • Freedom Six Bunker - power now makes destroying an ongoing card optional.
  • G.I. Bunker - power now works until the start of your next turn.
  • Tachyon - power has a new wording and behavior.
  • Rook City Wraith - incapacitated ability no longer says “put into play.”
  • Dark Visionary - incapacitated ability will now work on non-environment cards in the environment trash.
  • Ra: Horus of Two Horizons - incapacitated ability will now work on non-villain cards in the villain trash.
  • Santa Guise - the mechanics of his first incapacitated ability are subtly changed. Now you are not allowed to discard and not draw.

The foil hero collection is definitive and overrides previous printings of hero character cards.

Baron Blade is not required to go first in a team villain game, but it is suggested.

"Active in this game" means present and not incapacitated.

A hero in the game due to Celestial Tribunal counts as being active in the game.

If The Naturalist has access to multiple forms, the effects on a card must be activated in the order they are printed on the card.

The Sentinels' setup card works like the Ennead instructions card in that it is a ghost card; it does not count as a card in play and nothing else can affect it.

If Inconceivable Obstruction reveals a Shinobi Assassin, the Assassin goes into play and takes the damage.

If a card says “at the end of the villain turn” in a team villain game, it happens on at the end of that villain's turn (not every villain turn). Rebuilt to Survive is changed to say "end of Fright Train’s turn."

Environment/hero effects that happen at the start of a villain turn happen at the start of every villain turn, and use the deck of the villain whose turn it is. For example, Time Flies plays the top card of Proletariat's deck at the start of Proletariat's turn; the top card of Ermine's deck at the start of Ermine's turn, etc.

For “Old Tricks - New Allies” the cards are played in turn order. The words "in turn order" are added to the text of that card.

When you "put a card from a hero trash on top of its deck” you put the card on top of the card's deck.

In team villain games, you can individually set Advanced per villain. Same thing with challenge mode.

Cards like “Slamara”, which play the top card of the villain and all hero decks, play the top card of ALL villain decks! Terrifying.


Impulsion Beam prevents Mr. Fixer from using Strike twice in a turn. It prevents Pride from activating Prejudice. Only. One. Power. Period.


If Impulsion Beam enters play due to a hero playing a card on their turn, it prevents them from playing a second card.

When a card like Entomb says “if all active heroes are dealt damage this way,” it means ALL active Sentinel hero character cards have to have been dealt damage. They are each individually active heroes.

Similarly, when a card deals damage to “all heroes that …”, such as Primordial Plant Life, it deal damages to all members of the Sentinels.


PL626 deals damage to the exact hero character card that used the power when The Sentinels use a power.


Rites of Revival can be used with the Sentinels when they are all incapacitated. You choose only one to flip up, which also flips up the setup card.

When Guise copies Mainstay’s power “Reduce damage dealt to all your hero targets” it results in reducing damage dealt to Guise.


When “Isolated Hero” is on a Sentinel, it does not isolate that Sentinel from the other Sentinels. But it does isolate the Sentinels as a whole from the other heroes. The Sentinels are a team, through and through.


If “Imbued Vitality” is out, and thus the Sentinels have target equipment/ongoing cards, but then the last Sentinel is dealt damage such that all Sentinels are incapacitated, you do not flip the instructions card. The Sentinels live on through their stuff. They aren’t incapacitated until they run out of stuff or Imbued Vitality leaves play. Second Chance can still revive them in this state.


If Setback is incapacitated and revived via Rites of Revival, his unlucky pool is reset to 0.

Suppose a hero’s cards have been removed from the game, and the hero gets incapacitated so the rest of their cards get removed from the game too. When you use Rites of Revival, all of their cards come back. "I am a benevolent jerk." - Christopher

“Blend into the Pack” says “Reduce that damage by the number of environment targets in play.” This works the same as any card that would say something like “Reduce that damage by X, where X = the number of environment targets in play.” 

The forms all say “you MAY activate (symbol)”. Taking Environmental Allies as an example if the Naturalist is the Gazelle, that mean that every time the environment would deal a hero target damage, they can choose whether or not to enact the immunity. The Naturalist may choose to increase damage via Cornered Beast, or not, for every instance of damage. In the video game, there is an option you can toggle so that you are always asked about these decisions.


The Gazelle part of Hyperactive Senses says “You may discard the top card of any 2 decks.” That means you either discard no cards, or you must discard the top card from 2 different decks. You can’t just discard the top card from 1 deck.


If Guise can activate form effects, he can only activate them on abilities he has copied to his play area. He may not copy effects of the Naturalist's one-shots or cards in play that Guise has not copied.

In order to draw a card revealed by Syntactic Analysis, the player must be allowed to draw cards. Other cards that react to cards being drawn react to this action.

Cards revealed by Syntactic Analysis may be returned to the top of the deck (in whatever order the player wishes) because the actions are optional.

When Entry Point is on a card, the text on the card under it has no effect, but it can be targeted by "destroy an environment card" effects. When Entry Point is destroyed, the text on the card under it is in play again. 


If a room card under Entry Point is destroyed, Entry Point remains in play by itself.


The wording on Entry Point is changed to prevent an infinite loop: the “play the top card” and “reshuffle this card” clauses are switched. The damage increase effect from Entry Point cards waiting to get reshuffled is in play until they get reshuffled.


Entry Point only cares about room cards when it is entering play, not any other time.


Cards under Entry Point do not have keywords. If there are 2 Room cards in play, both covered by Entry Points, and an Entry Point enters play, it sees no room cards and gets reshuffled into the deck.

If a Shinobi Assassin is on top of Ra’s deck and he plays Summon Staff, the assassin gets shuffled into Ra's deck.


If Ermine has “Subtle Diversion” is out, and Guise deals her damage that cannot be redirected, it uses up Subtle Diversion's effect for that turn.


“Overwhelm the Mighty” re-evaluates the hero target with the highest HP after each attack.


“Incidental Contact” says “KNYFE deals each target 1 energy damage. KNYFE may deal any target dealt damage this way an additional 1 energy damage.” Every time KNYFE deals a target during the first round of damage, the optional damage happens immediately.


Guise can play Lemme See That on an Ongoing card that has become Equipment due to Caspit's Playground.


If Caspit’s Playground is destroyed, Lemme See That stops working, but remains where it is.


With Spite: Agent of Gloom, Buffer Overflow cannot react to Lab Raid. Buffer Overflow is looking for cards hitting the table, which Lab Raid never does.


Suppose Pterodactyl Thief (2 HP) and Omnitron-U are in play. At the start of the environment turn, Pterodactyl Thief destroys Electro-Deployment Unit, which causes Omnitron-U to deal 2 damage to Pterodactyl Thief, destroying it. The damage happens before the card goes under Pterodactyl Thief, so Electro-Deployment Unit ends up in Omnitron-U’s trash.


If two copies of What Do You Really Know? are in play, Wager Master only deals damage once for each hero card on top of his deck.


If Jack Handle activates from a dynamic amount of damage, the amount is fixed upon first attempting to deal damage. This can occur in situations with Impossible Quandary.


A "one-time" or "once-per-turn" damage reduction is not used up by zero damage. A damage amount of zero shouldn’t trigger anything.


“The Wraith’s Arsenal” only considers active players. It can still be destroyed by just the remaining players drawing cards.


When Shinobi Assassin is on top of a hero deck, it does not prevent the draw, discard, reveal, or play actions. When it is interacted with, it takes effect and enters play, but the original action continues with the top hero card. For example, if you draw a card, the Shinobi Assassin enters play, and then you draw the top card.

However, If something is specifically trying to play/reveal an environment card and it comes up with Shinobi Assassin, it doesn't go on to the next card, as it got what it was looking for. For example, Inconceivable Obstruction does not reveal another card.

If Prophetic Vision reveals the top 3 cards of the environment deck, and one of them is a Shinobi Assassin, the Shinobi Assassin gets put into play, does its damage and then the Visionary chooses between the 2 remaining cards.

Sky-Scraper is just one target, even though her character cards get switched.

When Shocking Animation and Imbued Vitality are both in play, the higher maximum HP is the target's max HP. 

Suppose Shocking Animation goes next to an Ongoing card due to Caspit’s Playground, then Caspit's Playground leaves play. The effects of Shocking Animation no longer apply to the card, since it's no longer an equipment card. Shocking Animation just hangs out and looks sad.

Drum of Despair's effect only causes one of The Sentinels' character cards to take damage (player's choice).

Rules of thumb when deciding how a card would damage The Sentinels:

  • "Deal each hero" => Hits all the Sentinels character cards
  • "Deal the hero with X, where X is a 'player thing'" (e.g. most cards in play) => Hits one The Sentinels character card of their choice
  • "Deal the hero with X, where X is a 'card thing'" (e.g. highest HP) => Hits The Sentinels character card that matches the requirement

 

If you would play the bottom card of your deck but the deck is empty, you reshuffle the trash to make a new deck first (just like playing the top card).

If Adamant Writhe uses his power then decides not to move the next non-hero target destroyed, that “uses up” the effect.

If you play Bestial Shift and use a power to switch to another form, you may activate form abilities that are written further down on the card. The effect cannot backtrack up the card.

If you’re in the middle of activating a form ability and lose the form, the ability stops. This can include dealing damage, drawing cards, etc.

If Caliginous Form is in play and damage to Writhe is reduced to 0 or fewer damage, it is not redirected. It only gets redirected if there’s any damage left over after the reduction.

Natural Born Vigor is only destroyed if The Naturalist regains at least 4 HP. 

Suppose Friction has a target in her trash but Ermine does not. You may select Ermine’s trash for Training Simulator and avoid having a target be moved into play.

The interpretation of Prime Wardens Captain Cosmic's innate power has changed. When Prime Wardens Captain Cosmic has his power activated, then a construct is destroyed and the player decides not to move the card to his deck, he may not either play or draw a card. The official wording is not changed, but the behavior is clarified as follows:
Until the start of your next turn, whenever a construct is destroyed, [and you haven’t shuffled it into your deck already,] you may shuffle it into your deck and [if you do,] either draw or play a card.

If Bloogo is next to a non-character hero or villain target and the hero or villain are incapacitated (removing their cards from the game), Bloogo hangs out until he has a new place to go to.

The Vengeance rulebook is updated to clarify what happens when a team villain is destroyed; it is similar to the latest rules about heroes.

If a voodoo pin is next to a Sentinel, the end of turn GloomWeaver damage is dealt to that specific Sentinel. If that Sentinel is incapacitated, the pin just hangs around doing nothing, but if that Sentinel comes back, the pin is still there doing stuff. In the case of the Sable Pin, the player can choose to destroy a card if they want.

With America's Greatest Legacy's innate power and The Sentinels, he picks a specific Sentinel. They gain the 1 HP and may either use their power or an auxiliary power, such as the Rod of Anubis. They could not choose to use the power printed on a different member of The Sentinels.

If Unforgiving Wasteland is in play and an environment target causes a Sentinel member to become incapacitated, they are removed from the game. However, the game goes on as normal for the rest of the Sentinels, minus that member. If they are all incapacitated the regular way, they just flip (along with the setup card) and they still have incapacitated abilities. However, if the Unforgiving Wasteland ends up removing ALL Sentinels members from the game, then the setup card is also removed from the game and they have no incapacitated abilities anymore.


Cards that revive a Sentinels member cannot revive a Sentinels member that has been removed from the game.

All effects that discard the top card of each deck occur in the order chosen by the players.

Suppose damage that cannot be redirected would be dealt to Kismet and Inconceivable Obstruction is in play. Kismet still flips over the top card of the environment deck, and put it into play if it is a target, even though damage is not redirected to it.

When Guise copies cards from The Sentinels, he replaces “The Sentinels” with “Guise” as well as each individual hero’s name. He’s greedy.

If a Form card is in play and Guise plays Uh Yeah, I'm That Guy, the Form card will be destroyed since Uh Yeah, I'm That Guy gains the text: "When this card enters play, destroy any other form cards." This works the same as Mr. Fixer's Style cards.

If Last Stop reveals a Shinobi Assassin, the Assassin jumps into play, deals its damage, then Fright Train deals his damage. The part "discard that environment card" is disregarded because the Assassin is now in play and cannot be discarded.

Suppose Prime Wardens Captain Cosmic used his power, and Sustained Influence is in play. When a Construct is destroyed, both his innate power and Sustained Influence are interested in where the Construct ends up. Prime Wardens Captain Cosmic must choose one or the other, not both. If he decides to shuffle it back into his deck and then draw or play a card, he does not still get to put the Construct back into play via Sustained Influence. If he decides to put it back into play via Sustained Influence, he may not shuffle it back into his deck.

Topic locked