"Bad Reputation" timing question

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Spiff
Spiff's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 3 weeks ago
PlaytesterExceeded ExpectationsUnique Capabilities
Joined: Sep 09, 2011
"Bad Reputation" timing question

The rules on Kickstarter state:

Boosts may be played at any time during the game (unless they specify a phase, in which case they may be played any time during that phase).

The text on the "Bad Reputation" card states:

Discard a card.  If you do, gain 30 credits.

Lastly, the rules for the Requisition Phase read like this:

At the start of this phase, after completing the actions on any cards in play with [REQUISITION] icons, each player reveals their hand and totals the value of the Credits on their cards. Then, each player may purchase cards equal to this value. For example, if a player has 70 credits, then they could purchase one card with a Price of 70, or seven cards which each have a Price of 10, or any other combination. However, even if additional cards are added to or removed from a player’s hand after the start of the Requisition phase, that player’s available credits for the phase do not change.

So, at the start of the Req. Phase, I reveal my hand, which includes the "Bad Reputation" card.  Let's say I have a total of 70 credits.  Since I can play "Bad Reputation" at any point during the Req. Phase, I would assume that after it's been determined that I have 70 credits, I would then discard one of the cards which gave me the 70 credits and my credit total would not be reduced because "even if additional cards are added to or removed from a player's hand after the start of..." the total isn't changed.  So I'd have 70 credits even though the total of cards in my hands is no longer 70, then I'd add the 30 credits from "Bad Reputation" to make my total for that round 100 credits.

Did I do that correctly?


Spiff's SotM site: www.spiffworld.com/sotm
Spiff's Tactics site: www.spiffworld.com/tactics

Ronway
Ronway's picture
Offline
Last seen: 33 min ago
PlaytesterTruth Seeker
Joined: Aug 02, 2011

Yes that is exactly how it would work. After the amount of credits is determined it will remain the same unless a card says otherwise or you use it to make purchases.

Pydro
Pydro's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 hour 13 min ago
ModeratorPlaytester
Joined: May 19, 2012

I just wanted to emphasize one of the rules your brought up. RULW: All cash is counted at the beginning of the Requisition phase. You emphasized that you can use a card AFTER it is counted and still get it money. This is all true (thanks Ronway). One of issue you have to consider is whether or not to use the Boost BEFORE the Requisition phase. If you do, you don't get its cash value.


Civilized men are more discourteous than savages because they know they can be impolite without having their skulls split, as a general thing.
-Robert E. Howard, "The Tower of the Elephant"

Spiff
Spiff's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 3 weeks ago
PlaytesterExceeded ExpectationsUnique Capabilities
Joined: Sep 09, 2011

In the case of "Bad Reputation", using it before the Req. Phase wouldn't be possible, because the card says, "Boost - Requisition" on it, right?


Spiff's SotM site: www.spiffworld.com/sotm
Spiff's Tactics site: www.spiffworld.com/tactics

Pydro
Pydro's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 hour 13 min ago
ModeratorPlaytester
Joined: May 19, 2012

Correct. In fact it wouldn't even be possible to use it during the Req phase before you get money (that happens first). There are, however, many Boosts taht don;t have phase limitations. It is with those you have to make a decision.

So why would you even want to use it before the Req phase? Becuase you can use them BEFORE you travel during the Travel phase. Thereby, causing an effect in the Sector you are coming from.


Civilized men are more discourteous than savages because they know they can be impolite without having their skulls split, as a general thing.
-Robert E. Howard, "The Tower of the Elephant"